Cheap Standalone Media Center

I was doing my usual bargain hunting at a local thrift store when I ran across a Dell 4550 Desktop. Needing a new media pc project I found the price tag of $20 hard to pass up. It only needed a hard drive so with one of those that i had laying around the house, a install of XP and some drivers from the Dell I got it up and running in no time.

Then, thanks to Lifehacker I got some really great Media Center DIY tips from this article, “Build a Silent, Standalone XBMC Media Center on the Cheap“.  By the end of the day I was streaming content from my Netflix’s account and enjoying the fact that the money  I saved was still drawing interest in my saving account.

So summing up:

Media pc 20$

Netflex Video Streaming service 9$ per month (unlimited )

Windows XP OS 0$

Hard Drive 0$

XBMC 0$

Enjoyment of a project well done “Priceless”

You can also find this post at Vanport Media

This entry was posted in Articles, daily, tv and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

